Only six animals forward in the Salers classes but what quality animals we had!

Circumstance meant that we were reduced to just six Salers between four exhibitors, but what a team.

Richard Tudor from Powys was our Judge and said the Salers entries were low, however that is the nature, and success of the breed as they are the ideal suckler breed and as such in Wales they are a working animal for commercial men and doing well at their job.

Preenbank Lord Bisto, from Llwellyn Powell, took the Supreme Champion; beating his father Seawell Invader from F & B Robinson, but the Robinsons took delight in the fact he was bred by them. This April 2016 bull drew lots of attention from other breeders with his powerful looks.


Salers Overall Champion – Preenbank Lord Bisto – L Powell

The Reserve Champion went to a sweet little heifer Preenbank Miss Emma, from the Robinsons again. This lovely heifer born February 2017 was sired by Seawell Invader the sire of the champion, out of Preenbank Ezme. One to look out for in the future.

Salers Reserve Champion – Preenbank Miss Emma – F & B Robinson

2nd place to the reserve champion was first time exhibitor 15 year old Gwawr Griffiths from Anglesey with Felin Mona Mai an April 2017 born heifer bred by H & S Pritchard. These two heifers are worth a big mention as they took the Reserve Champion in the RWS Females of the Future Pairs – Beef Breeds a great achievement out of 14 pairs put forward. They matched each other perfectly and were a superb example of what the future holds.

RWS Females of the Future Pairs Reserve Champions

Preenbank Miss Emma, F & B Robinson and Felin Mona Mai, G Griffiths

Show Results – Judge R Tudor, Powys


1st   Preenbank Lord Bisto, L Powell

2nd   Seawell Invader, F & B Robinson

Cow, born on or before 31 December 2015 in calf or with calf at foot

1st   Morfa Arwen, J E Thomas

Heifer born on or after 1 January 2017

1st   Preenbank Miss Emma, F & B Robinson

2nd   Felin Mona Mai, G Griffiths

3rd   Preenbank Misty, F & B Robinson

Show Champion – Preenbank Lord Bisto – L Powell

(Campsmount Trophy / Allington Hughes Shield / Henry Gibson Cup)

Reserve Champion – Preenbank Miss Emma – F & B Robinson

(Hallows Trophy / Morwenstow Trophy)

Stockmans Shield – G Griffiths

Show Images